COVID-19 Testing Will Be Tougher For Air Travelers To The United States


In response to fears over a new coronavirus variation, the US is planning to require all air travelers entering the nation to produce a negative COVID-19 test completed within one day of departures, according to the Centre’s  for Disease Control and Preventions (CDC).

International flight travelers who have been vaccinated can now present a negative test result acquired within three days before their departure. To enter the United States, nearly all foreign citizens must be immunized. Travelers who have not been vaccinated must acquire a negative COVID-19 test within one day of arriving.

Both U.S. citizens and foreign nationals would be subject to the new one-day testing requirements.


According to Reuters, an entrepreneurial process for tighter testing requirements was circulating among government authorities.

“As we learn more about the Omicron variant,” a CDC spokeswoman confirmed, the agency is working to change its global testing rules for travel. “A rewritten sequence would reduce the timeframe for necessary test results for all global air travelers to one day before departing to the United States,” she said.

Read More : Deadline Approaching For The $1,400 Plus Up Fourth Stimulus Check

Officials said the administration is considering requiring air travelers to take another COVID-19 test three to five days after arriving in the United States.

The CDC won’t confirm this, but it did say that all “passengers should undergo a COVID-19 viral test 3-5 days after arrival” and that “all unvaccinated travelers should be quarantined post-travel.”

The tougher requirements may be revealed on Thursday, but it’s unclear when they’ll go into effect.

“We’re exploring how to make foreign travel as safe as feasible,” said CDC Director Rochelle Walensky, “including pre-departure screening closer to the time of flight and considerations around further post-arrival testing and self-quarantines.”

Concerns over the Omicron type prompted the White House to issue a ban on practically all foreign people who had recently visited South Africa and seven other southern African countries.

The government is exploring COVID-19 measures, including “considering more onerous testing requirements for overseas travel,” a White House official said earlier Tuesday.

The CDC issued a travel warning for Niger, Papua New Guinea, Poland, and Trinidad and Tobago on Tuesday, citing COVID-19 concerns.

The CDC currently classifies around 80 international places as having “Degree Four” COVID-19 transmission, the highest level, and advises Americans against visiting them.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here